top of page
  • Writer's picturearielaaviva

Chia Pudding

Tasty, customizable, low-histamine dessert! (and it's even healthy)

What's cool about chia pudding is that it's super easy and can be delicious for people on limiting diets like me, or can be made quite fancy (like in the stock photo above).


The simple ingredients list:

  • 2 cups unsweetened coconut milk (I use So Delicious -- it has some added gums, so I can't use it too much, but it is also organic and has a lot of added calcium, etc. You can also use low-fat coconut cream without added ingredients if the gums bother you, but it's not as nutritious)

  • 1/2 cup chia seeds (tip: if you run them through a blender/food processor first, they'll break down better in your stomach, which means more nutrients absorbed!)

  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (I react to all things alcohol, so I get alcohol-free extract from Trader Joe's. I also often use less than 1/2 tsp. On a bad day, too much vanilla can make me nauseous)

  • Sweetener (I use either maple syrup or brown sugar. I throw in a little at first and then add to taste later, while eating it) **no more than 1/4 cup total

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients (minus some sweetener) in a jar. Shake/stir/whisk to make sure the ingredients are spread evenly.

  • Optional: if you want a smooth texture, just throw the whole thing in the blender

  • Leave in the fridge for 4+ hours (you can leave it overnight if you want it for breakfast)

  • Eat!

Easy, right?! Remember, though, that the cool thing with chia pudding is how customizable it is.


I personally like to chop up mangoes and stir them in, for added flavor. I often leave out some of the vanilla and sweeteners when I add mango.


Other options, for people who aren't on my limited diet:

  • Use coco powder instead of vanilla or coconut-flavored stevia instead of sugar

  • Add berries! Or other fruits! You can also juice some of the fruits and use that instead of some of the coconut milk.

  • Add yogurt, for additional taste, flavor, and nutrients!

  • Add cinnamon (and perhaps apples and banana?)

  • Cool ideas I found online -- Chai pudding: add 1 tsp cinnamon and a pinch of cardamom and cloves; Matcha pudding: 1 Tbsp green tea matcha powder (recommended for St. Paddy's day, since it turns it bright green!)

  • Play around -- Do you like PB? Try it! Experiment with almond extract, nuts, chocolate chips, etc.


I can't eat leftovers, and too much of this stuff can mess with my stomach, so I typically quarter the recipe and just make it in a smaller mason jar. That way, it's a single serving and won't sit in the fridge too long before I finish it.


Total nutrients for the simple ingredients version: 2% potassium, 70% calcium, 20% vitamin A, 60% vitamin D, 100% vitamin B12, 8% zinc, 6% folate, 20% magnesium, 16% selenium, 37% iron, 25% protein, 110% fiber

(add sugar from sweeteners + nutrients from added ingredients like vitamins A+C in mango, etc)

26 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page