top of page
  • Writer's picturearielaaviva

Low-histamine, high-protein, gluten-free pancakes!!


I have to say, of all my recipes, I think I'm most proud of this one! I've combine aspects of different recipes, made adjustments for my diet, and then added a twist for extra protein and a really unique flavor!


I also like how easy it is to adapt or create variety with this versatile recipe.



Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups flour **I combine varying amounts of oat flour, all purpose, and whole wheat! (Note: GF peeps should obviously use gluten free oats or flour here)

  • 3 ½ teaspoons baking powder

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1/8 - 1/4 cups chia seeds

  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup (or your desired sweetener)

  • 1 1/4 cups milk (I've been using slightly less, so that the pancakes are a little thicker)

  • 1 duck egg

  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted

  • **add banana, apple, or berries!


Directions:

  1. Melt the butter

  2. Add the remaining wet ingredients

  3. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients

  4. Mix wet and dry ingredients **add 1/8 of the chia seeds, let the batter sit a few minutes, then add more chia seeds if a thicker consistency is desired

  5. Scoop out ~1/4 cup of batter onto griddle/pan

  6. Add in apples, bananas, blue berries, etc!

Being able to eat apples, bananas, and blue berries has been incredibly exciting for me, and eating a "real" food like pancakes is so comforting! These pancakes are so filling, and really tasty.


NutritionEach batch (8 pancakes, 2-3 servings) has:

  • Protein 90%

  • Fiber 110%

  • Vit A 9%

  • Vit C 24%

  • Vit B6 35%

  • Vit B12 75%

  • Vit E 5%

  • Potassium 45%

  • Calcium 58%

  • Iron 70%

  • Magnesium 75%

  • Sugar 25g

915 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page