top of page
  • Writer's picturearielaaviva

Acorn Squash Soup

Creamy, delicious, nutritious, and MCAS-friendly!


Squash soup was always one of my favorite meals, so I was bummed when I thought I couldn't eat it anymore. Luckily, my wonderful nutritionist helped me modify a low-histamine squash soup recipe so that it fit my exact needs.


Ingredients:

  • acorn squash (ideally organic)

  • coconut milk (no added ingredients like guar gum/xantham gum)

  • salt

  • apples (optional)

  • garlic (optional)

  • carrots (optional)


Cooking instructions:

  1. Peel and chop up the squash. **Note: acorn squash is a pain to peel. If you can stomach butternut squash, I recommend you stick with that!

  2. Splash your favorite oil into a medium-sized saucepan and saute the squash chunks over medium to medium-high heat. **Note: I use olive oil because it increases DAO (histamine fighters) in the bloodstream

  3. If you're not like me and can tolerate carrots, throw them in the pot for the last minute or two.

  4. Pour a can of coconut milk/cream and reduce the heat. Simmer until squash is soft.

  5. If using apples (naturally anti-histamine!), peel/chop and throw it in when you start the simmer. If using garlic, throw in a clove or two right after the apples.

  6. Once the squash is soft, either pour it all into a blender, or use a submersion blender, to create a creamy, homogeneous, chunk-free texture. **Note: if using garlic, remove clove(s) before blending.

  7. Add salt to taste (I add a TON)

  8. Enjoy! Feel free to garnish with some coconut cream and/or green pepitas



9 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page