top of page
  • Writer's picturearielaaviva

Easy sorbet recipes

Vegan; low in histamine, oxalates, salicylates; high in taste and vitamin C!



As much as I love an apple or mango for dessert, sometimes I really just need to sit on the couch, watch an episode of something on Netflix and eat some ice cream. Since ice cream isn't an option anymore, I've been desperate for a replacement. My sisters gave me an ice cream maker awhile back (yeah, they're awesome at birthdays), and I've found new motivation to drag it back out.


So far my favorite recipes that I can eat on this diet are mango and coconut sorbet. I've avoided any ice cream/gelatos since I have been lactose intolerant for along time, but I'm starting to think I might have grown out of that. so I'd like to try a basic vanilla or something else MCAS-friendly. Regardless, I will be trying new flavors periodically and will update this post as I find new gems.


Mango Sorbet

  1. Gather as many ripe mangoes as you can find (this is the hardest part, for sure)

  2. Remove the peels and pits and blend the flesh in a blender

  3. Add 3/4 cups sugar + dash of salt for every 3 cups of mango **don't overdo the salt!!

  4. Blend again (on low) and stash it in the fridge for ideally 2-3 hours, but less is fine

  5. Pour into ice cream churner, then put in an airtight container and store in the freezer!


Coconut Sorbet

  1. Mix one can of coconut cream with half a can of water in a large bowl **Note: for those on low-histamine diets, make sure to get coconut cream without any guar gum or xanthum gum. I use Organic Native Forest Simple.

  2. Add 1/2 cup sugar (I use much less! I found 1/2 cup too sweet)

  3. Whisk it together until smooth

  4. Cool in the freezer for 30 mins, then whisk quickly to break up solidified bits

  5. Pour into an ice cream churner, then put in an airtight container and store in the freezer


Each sorbet is delicious on its own, but I've come to love the combo! They complement one another very nicely.

9 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page