top of page
  • Writer's picturearielaaviva

Day 12: MCAS crash

Updated: Sep 2, 2018


I woke up at 7:00 and, despite only about six hours of sleep, felt better than expected! So, I bounced out of bed and was met with some of the worst vertigo of my life. I was in one of those creepy fun houses where the floor and walls were moving and I just barely was able to keep my balance without falling over. I quickly ran to the bathroom to pee, sat on the toilet, and watched the world continue to spin around me. I remember thinking I didn't know if I could actually wash my hands without ending up on the floor, but didn't want to think about taking my meds with toilet hands... so I made a bit of a mess, but I managed to get my hands clean.


I flopped back in bed, nauseous, head pounding, eyes feeling like they were going to pop out of my head. But comfy and happy to be snuggled back in bed with no deadlines, work, or social obligations!


I woke up again a few times, each time the same -- I felt great until I tried to sit or stand up. One time I had no choice; the hangover shits wouldn't wait.


It's an MCAS hangover, and I know it well. To clarify, I didn't drink any alcohol. All I had at the bar was chamomile tea and ice water. I get hangovers like this when I use too many spoons in one night, eat high-histamine foods, do MCAS triggering activities, or in this case, a combo of all three.


So, I stayed in bed until noon, needing to eat/drink, but unable to stand up long enough to do it.


Eventually, I made my way into the land of the living, and actually felt pretty well! We went back to Linnane's Lobster Bar and then drove down to where the beach had been. Unfortunately, the beach was actually gone! The tide was so high that there was no sand to sit on, so we sat on the stone wall at the boundary of the beach and dangled our feet. There were adorable dogs everywhere! It got pretty hot, so we left to get some ice cream, which wasn't great but there were nice views, a lighthouse, and several swans.



By that point I needed another nap, so we headed home to rest up. Dan really wanted street noodles again, so I rallied and we made it back to Galway! We got some tasty Chinese food and then went in search of music, which turned out to be not great. We settled eventually at The Skeff which was a really neat building in Eyre Square. It was huge and had five bars inside, each with a slightly different feel and TV's where you could watch the live musicians from downstairs. We found a nice couch where I could rest my head. After a bit, we headed home.


11 views

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections on Gaza in the wake of Purim

For the many of you who don't know, yesterday was Purim, a Jewish holiday about the story of Esther.  It follows the typical cadence of a Jewish holiday, which has become a running joke in our culture

bottom of page