top of page
  • Writer's picturearielaaviva

Even on a good day...

The importance of energy

A friend of mine just asked how I'm feeling today. I responded "I'm great!" After thinking about it for a minute, I reflected that I've had cramps, diarrhea, nausea, pain, malaise, headache, an MCAS reaction to the smell of my new couch, POTS dizziness from the heat, and for the last hour one of the vertebrae in my neck is out of place, causing constant pain, nausea, the feeling like my head is, in my PT's words, "a bowling ball on a golf tee," and the inability to swallow without a sickening feeling that my neck bones have just moved.


And yet, I really do feel like today is a good day. Why? For one, it's Saturday and I haven't had to do anything I didn't want to do. I've been incredibly productive, even set up an IKEA couch, but could tailor my activities to fit my needs of each moment.


The main reason, though, is that I have energy. Not the endless, boundless energy that sometimes normal people feel on a good day, but like the normal amount that most people have on a day to day basis. It's amazing. My head is clear, I don't feel the need to lie down constantly, I'm not afraid of accidentally napping, and I can actually move forward with my life! If I were like this every day, I could probably handle a full time job, or maybe even housework on top of a job and social life!

13 views

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections on Gaza in the wake of Purim

For the many of you who don't know, yesterday was Purim, a Jewish holiday about the story of Esther.  It follows the typical cadence of a Jewish holiday, which has become a running joke in our culture

bottom of page